#2 – Something You Feel Strongly About

I’m sort of an opinionated person.

And by ‘opinionated’ I mean loud, sarcastic, blunt, and debate-happy. And by ‘debate-happy’  I mean I won’t argue unless I know I’m right [or if it’s an argument based solely on opinion, not facts]; and if I am, you’re not going to win. I’ll continue until I win, or you run away crying/cursing me out. Either way, you’re gonna lose.

With that in mind, it’s probably easy to believe I might feel strongly about a lot of things, making it ever-so-slightly difficult to decide on one topic for this post.

Even so, I’ve thought about it for a while and I’m going with ‘censorship’. [With a bit of ‘why the media and whatnot today sucks’ in part.]

As someone who adores writing, art, movies and music, and grew up watching/listening to/reading things other parents probably wouldn’t have let a kid watch/listen to/read….I have to say the thought of censoring things just to make the easily offended people happy is kind of deplorable to me.

I think every parent is entitled to raise their kids however they see fit. [This is pretty much my view on most things: Believe, do and be whatever you want. As long as you don’t hurt other people in the process, I don’t care what you do.] That point in mind….just because I think it’s acceptable doesn’t mean I understand it.

I mean really.

Take, for example, the fact my sisters [both younger than me, but not by much] and I absolutely adored the movie Grease when we were growing up. We have it on VHS and DVD. Looking back and watching it now, I can understand more and realize it’s kiiiind of a dirty movie in part. A weensy bit mature. Nothing too crazy, but there are some ‘iffy’ things. Sure. But when I was 8? No idea. Not a clue at all whatsoever.

[It might be worth noting that my sisters and I have been homschooled our entire lives, and for much of said lives we didn’t spend a lot of time online or with other kids our age. Mainly because the only ones we knew were batshit and we wanted nothing to do with them. You see, we were civilized children who had evolved past ‘ape’ and didn’t enjoy the borderline-retarded behavior of kids who seemingly had not.]

Yes, I understand that kids nowadays [Welll ya see, back in MY day…./sigh I’m a month short of 18 and I’m talking like I’m old or something.] are a little more ‘informed’, if you will. What with tv and the internet, no wonder. That said, I don’t think knowledge is bad – I think not knowing what to do with said knowledge is bad.

To clarify: I don’t think Grease or anything else we watched [big fans of Teen Nick and the ‘older kids’ shows on Disney, we were. Whoohoo 90’s and early 2000’s.] harmed us or made us ‘bad’ kids or turned our brains to goo. Although I genuinely think kids’ and teens’ television was better back then [you know. Like how they actually had life lessons instead of just whiny kids being rude like now], it’s the same concept now: I believe you can take two kids the same age, same living and schooling conditions and have two totally different outcomes when it comes to stuff like this. Have them both watch, play and listen to the same things, visit the same websites….If one has a decent set of parents [or just a good single parent] and the other doesn’t, there’s your difference. It’s not how you live or what you watch, it’s how you’re raised.

Which is why I think it’s completely retarded to play watered-down, meaningless shows or bleep out swear words because you’re afraid someone’s going to get offended. If parents quit being SO overprotective, and actually thought about it from a logical viewpoint, they might realize that their kid doesn’t have a damn clue what’s going on in that show they’re watching. Just because you’re 35 and YOUR mind is corrupted, does not mean your 6-year-old’s is – unless you made it that way.

In other words: Quit playing dumbass shows just because parents are dumb. Yes, there are definitely things I think a child should not be put through. That said, the things I watched as a kid was nothing harmful. If you as a parent know enough to teach your kid right from wrong, what’s acceptable and what’s not, you shouldn’t worrying. Childhood and teen violence does not stem from hearing 50 Cent rap about it. It stems from not knowing what else to do or how to control yourself. Your teenagers are not going to run around having sex because they saw it in a show or magazine: They’re going to have sex because it’s human nature. [Or because they’re sluts/manwhores or think high school is a popularity contest like most people. Again, this sort of goes back to parenting.]

Censoring things because parents are too lazy to do their jobs and want someone else to do it for them, or because whiny people don’t want anyone else to have any fun, or religious people believe their way is the only way, or for ANY reason is nonsense. Get over yourselves. Live your life how you like and stop trying to change everyone else’s. You’re not EVERYONE’S mother.

Bleeping out the swear words on the radio isn’t actually going to solve anything. It’s like giving a dog a treat when he barks at you. You’re just enforcing the idiotic behavior. Stop it.

And that’s that.
Tomorrow’s topic: A book you love.

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions? Comments?

