#3 – A Book You Love

Yesterday’s topic took a bit of thought.

Today’s didn’t.

I love books. I’ve been reading since I was about 4, and despite the fact I haven’t read as much as usual the past couple years, I still love books and reading as much as I always did growing up. [I got this from my mom. If she’s into something she’s reading, you can literally tell her that the house is one fire, the zombie apocalypse is coming, or Hugh Jackman is outside and you won’t get a twitch out of her. Trust me, we’ve tried. One of my sisters was choking once while she was reading and she didn’t even look up. Dad, on the other hand, is under the impression that books are his own personal kryptonite.]

I also contribute my love for writing to how much I adore books. I love faerie tales and ‘real life’ stories alike. I love how a book can take you to a new world; introduce you to new people. I like how books can influence the way you hear, see and even think. Likewise, I love being able to do that to people through writing. Connect. It’s special.

Taking all this into consideration, there are a loooottttt of books I’ve read. Oddly, I dislike very few of them. [I can think of two off the top of my head, but who can’t?] So, since I’ve read so many books and enjoyed the vast majority of them, you’d think it would be difficult for me to choose just one to talk about.

I could talk about King Dork by Frank Portman. [Second all-time favorite book. Sort of a punk-rock, modern-day Catcher in the Rye. Which I also love.]
Or Tithe by Holly Black. [‘Modern tale of faerie.’ One of my favorites. It’s got a gothic twist to it while still being ‘normal’ lifelike.]
Or I could talk about Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. [I’ve only read it once, years ago, but it’s one that stuck with me. It’s heart wrenching and romantic – neither being things I’m generally fond of in books, movies or anything, really – but definitely worth a read.]
Or there’s Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin, Undone by Brooke Taylor, Born to Rock by Gordon Korman, Something Rotten by Alan Gratz, Wake by Lisa McMann, The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness series by Michelle Paver or the Shadow Children series by Margaret Peterson Haddix….The Host by Stephenie Meyer [I know I know, EWWW TWILIGHT WUT. Shut up. The books were not that bad. They weren’t literary masterpieces, but they weren’t as awful as everyone cries about. The movies ruined everything. Fangirls could make bacon bad. Even so, The Host is a completely different book. Give it a fair shot.], Beige by Cecil Castellucci, Lost It by Kristen Tracy, The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl by Barry Lyga, or Peeps, Last Days or So Yesterday all by Scott Westerfeld.

And the list continues.

See? I’ve read a lot and liked a lot. That’s just a sprinkling I always remember when thinking about favorites. I could write about any one of those books or series and still think of more.

But, awesome as they all are and much as I love them all in themselves….None of them hold the title of Meg’s #1 All Time Favorite Book Ever.
That award goes to the urban fantasy spectacular awesomeness that is Charles de Lint’s The Blue Girl.

I got it from the library years ago. I loved it. I bought it a few months ago, read it again and loved it just as much. It’s the one I never get sick of and never forget about. The one I loved when I was in my punky-14-year-old-weirdo stage, and still love now. [Not that I’m not still weird and don’t have my moments, but ya know. Watered down, ever-so-slightly.]

In short, it’s about a 17-year-old girl, recently moved to a new town and looking to start over. As a former gang member who grew up on a hippie commune, tattooed and funky-haired, witty and sarcastic, Imogene Yeck has promised herself that in her new home, she isn’t going to start trouble. In fact, she’s going to stay out of it and actually attend school/study for once.
The school faeries and resident dead kid [not to mention the evil spirits they accidentally have her dealing with ] kind of have other plans. So with the help of her one-and-only friend Maxine, Imogene has a bit to take care of.

I know. It sounds pretty simple right? I suppose it is. Written by anyone else, I might not love it as much as I do, but the writing of Charles de Lint is what makes it so unique. This book is one that makes me want to write. Or just want to go find faeries.

Go, check it out. Now. Here, I’ll even give you a link to buy it on Amazon.

Tomorrow’s topic: Bullet your whole day. [Oh that should be interesting. I’m supposed to go to my boyfriend’s tomorrow. So….If I don’t get around to posting, you can just wait till Halloween, right?]

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #3 – A Book You Love

  1. MaryAnn says:

    Oh, my. There I was, expecting to see Charles de Lint’s name in the midst of a list, which would be quite lovely, but ‘All Time Favorite Book Ever’? Wow! I can hardly wait to send this link to Charles. (I’m married to him.)

    As you know, writing is a lonely occupation, so for him to read something like this – especially to read, “This book is one that makes me want to write. Or just want to go find faeries.” Well, that’s unbeatable.

    Thank you for loving my sweetie’s books and for such a glowing recommendation.

    MaryAnn Harris

    • Oh my indeed! Can’t say I expected hearing from you two, haha. [And you know, with the internet and all, it’s easy to be a little skeptical when people say they’re someone – often they’re not. But, I’ll take your word for it. ;)]
      And it’s definitely my favorite. It helps that someone once told me I reminded them of Imogene, in the book, haha.
      Lonely…sure can be. But I tend to stick with the whole ‘if one person likes it, you’ve succeeded’ side of things. Which is why I enjoy things like the Blue Girl so much: It’s written because it’s good, because it was worth being written, and written FOR people who would appreciate it. It’s not some meaningless garbage thrown together just to make sales. It’s special. That’s the whole point. 😀
      So thank YOU for replying. 🙂
      -Meg

  2. Charles de Lint says:

    Hi Megan. My wife MaryAnn pointed me to this recent post of yours. Great list of books–the ones I don’t know, I’ll have to go check out–and I’m delighted to be included on it. I especially liked that you said The Blue Girl is a book that makes you want to write. I think of art as this big conversation that we’re all having with each other and anytime I can help someone join in is a happy day.

    cheers

    Charles

    • Well hi there 😀
      I have sort of an eclectic taste in most things, so they’re all a little different, but I definitely think they’re all worth checking out.
      I’m sure your wife will show you my reply to her comment, so I’ll try not to repeat myself too much 😉
      Me being how I am, I tend to gather inspiration from a lot of things: The Blue Girl’s just something that it runs a little thicker in, if you will. I quite like the idea of art being a conversation….Seeing how conversations usually have different opinions and different subjects, it’s all the more interesting and fitting to think the same about art: Since really, if it doesn’t have some sort of feeling or personality in it, there’s no point, right?
      Thanks for the reply good sir: Keep up the awesomeness and thank YOU for giving me one of my favorite things in life, haha.
      -Meg

Questions? Comments?

