#6 – Your Views on Mainstream Music

In short, my views on mainstream music are simple: It’s not usually my preference, but I have an eclectic taste as is, and when my moods differ, so do my tastes. Some bands or singers I just despise as a whole, some I dislike because they’ve been overplayed for me, some I like on and off, some I love forever, and some I have no preference on.

I don’t listen to the radio too often. Simple fact. I used to listen to the radio almost 24/7. I’ve found, however, that it’s more annoyance than happiness. Mainly because a song you love at first gets so overplayed you wind up hating it. And that’s not fair to you or the song.

I like a good Rihanna song every now and again. I don’t dislike Lady Gaga, generally speaking. Not a big Beyonce fan, dislike Bieber’s music, not big on Miley Cyrus. Bruno Mars has a cool voice and songs I don’t hate.

That said, all of those are things I wouldn’t really listen to when I’m in my room just hanging out. For the most part, anyway. Even so, I’m not opposed to turning on a Ke$ha song, or just something loud and jumpy with lyrics more or less meaningless if I feel like dancing around my room. I like music with substance, meaning and feeling. But I also like stuff that just makes you want to jump around. All depends on the mood.
I find it borderline retarded when people insist they hate all mainstream music. Quit being a hipster. Just because it’s popular doesn’t mean it’s bad. Sure, the Twilight movies suck so bad it hurts, but the books weren’t unbearable. Give it a chance.

Let’s give an example. Ke$ha can’t sing, but read an interview with her: She knows that. Mick Jagger’s not the best singer in the world, but the Rolling Stones are one of the best bands of all time. Not that I’m actually comparing Ke$ha to the Stones, but you get my point. In a way I sort of am, I suppose, but the fact of the matter is they don’t HAVE to be compared. There’s no POINT in comparing them. Taking one genre of music and comparing it to a different one doesn’t even make sense. They’re DIFFERENT. That’s the idea. You can’t compare country to rap. You just can’t. It’s asinine.

Be it Lady Gaga, the Beatles, Fleet Foxes, All Time Low, Green Day, Bullet For My Valentine or anything else, my opinion on mainstream music is just like my opinion on all music: If it’s good, it’s good, and if it sucks, it sucks. I don’t care what genre a song is, or what radio station plays it, or if it’s on MTV or not. I don’t listen to the radio, I don’t watch tv. It’s irrelevant to me. If I like a song, I like it.

Simple.

 

Sorry if this post was a little haywire. I feel like it kinda went all over the place, aha. Been a vaguely long couple of days and I’m getting sleepy. Either way, I think the point’s across well enough, hm?

Also: How was everyone’s Halloween? What’d you doooo? I spent a couple hours babysitting, then went trick-or-treating with my sisters. Suffice it to say I have two full gallon ziplock bags. Sugarcoma ftw.

Tomorrow’s topic: Five Pet Peeves.

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions? Comments?

