#9 – How Important You Think Education Is

Here’s the thing with education and me:

We don’t really mix.

This fact, however, isn’t necessarily true because I’m stupid, lazy, unwilling to try or just otherwise unable.

It’s mainly because it bothers me, unless I’m interested in something I have trouble focusing on it, and, ok, a little bit of laziness.

So, to answer the original question: ‘Knowledge’ is very important. ‘Education’ is iffy in my view.

What’s the difference? Is there one? I think so. Because seemingly the majority of the world’s view of ‘education’ is that it’s necessary for life. And often, it is. Sure, World, I’ll give you that: Schooling can take you places. I’m not naive enough to say it can’t. Even with that in mind though, I don’t think it’s a cure-all. After all, as Ron White says, ‘you can’t fix stupid.’

There are stupid educated people, and really smart uneducated people.

So, you go to school to get a better job, right? Sure, makes sense. Why not? Better job equals better pay. Absolutely the best option. Buuuuutttt…..

See my point?

My problem is that a degree only proves so much. A high school diploma proves even less. There are way too many people who graduate from high school who can’t even read. And yet that’s good enough to get you a job at most companies.

Question.

Instead of using high school diplomas or college degrees to determine who gets a job, why don’t we do tests?
Harsh? Sure. Fair? More so, yes.
Experience > papers.

Going for a job that requires math? You have to be able to do it before you get the job, not just show that you passed high school. Going for a career that you’ll virtually never use math for at all? Screw it: Show us you can do what we need you do and we don’t care if you know 20+20. [Though, for your bills and stuff, that might be something worth brushing up on.]

In short [because I’m tired and I know I’m rambling, so please forgive me] I don’t see why it’s education people think is important. Because frankly, if you’re a dumbass or just too lazy to care about learning, you’re not GOING TO learn anything.
A diploma doesn’t prove that you’re smart: It proves that you can pass a test. And that is the most bullshit prerequisite for anything I have ever heard.
Yeah, sure. It makes it nicer for the idiots, or the people who are just too lazy.

And yes, when it comes to that, I AM a bit lazy. But not because I don’t want to or can’t do what’s ‘necessary’: It’s because I hate the fact it’s necessary. I know why I need to know basic math – because I need to be able to support myself and probably someday a family, and understanding how to do bills and pay checks and make sure the cashier isn’t ripping me off is important. I get that. That is completely understandable.
I hate math with a burning passion. I don’t enjoy it, and because I don’t enjoy it, I’m bad at it. I don’t have the patience for it – because I dislike it – so I’m never going to be good at it. I have no wish to know anything about math further than what I need to know to survive. I am never going to have a job that requires me to do anything past basic math.
So why. The hell. Do I have to spend time learning it. Why can’t I spend time learning things I LIKE or things I genuinely believe I’m going to USE? Why don’t I make use of my time and be able to better do whatever job I wind up doing instead of learning things to pass a test? Stupid logic is stupid.

 

And now, tired of writing. That was more of a rambling rant than an actual opinion. Forgive me.
Tomorrow’s topic: 10. Put your music player on shuffle and write the first ten songs that play.

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #9 – How Important You Think Education Is

  1. tanyouyi says:

    haaha.. i hate maths too, and went to take a dipolma that doesn’t require maths (well, i still need to do simple maths though)… I feel that learning maths helps us in problem solving? not only maths problem sums but in other areas too like chemistry, physics, designing, finanical and so on… I do agree with you that the harsh reality is that one needs a better cert to get a better job and what one learnt in school itsn’t of much use on the jobscope itself… Once, a lecturer told our class that what we learnt in school is only 10% of what is actually needed in the working world.. People often have to relearn and gain experience when in work… However, if an employer were to employ someone base on the experiences, wouldn’t a newbie be always rejected and never have an opportuntiy to gain such experiences? And you had pointed out that tests need to be done for the selection of the employee, coming down to the bottom line, education does plays a huge part in helping us getting pass the test… I feel that education is part of the knowledge and other stuff you learn adds on to that knowledge of yours…
    Visit me at: http://wordscanvas.wordpress.com/

  2. I always get surprised by the racist and sexist things that I hear college students say. Sure they got a degree in political science, but that does not mean that their values are in the right place as well.

  3. Eklctc says:

    Yes, you are a bit of a rambler but … so am I. 🙂
    I agree with you on the notion that knowledge is power and education is iffy and have had a few conversations this year regarding this matter. You are also right in the statement that education is necessary, unfortunately, but not for humble reasons or reasons created by the people. Education is necessary because our society makes it necessary to obtain better jobs and, thus, social status. The problem with that is education doesn’t guarantee those things. You have many people who have done their time and obtain undergraduate and Master’s degrees who are still either looking for a job or working an underpaid job. Mind you, they could be working in their field of study and in a decent job and still not be making the money we have been led to believe we should when we pursue these studies (i.e. teaching, psychology, accounting, etc). Additionally, the comic strip hit the nail on the head. When you do obtain a degree and a higher paying job, the fruits of your labor are paid back into the system so you still don’t fully rip the rewards. I have an exe that makes over $100k a year but pays more than half of his monthly salary to student loans.

    I know that you can obtain a job making decent money without a degree; however, I learned that through experience as I worked towards earning my Bachelor’s. Mind you, I have yet to earn that degree and I owe at least $75k in student loan monies. I obtained my Associate’s in Accounting and tried to pursue a job in that field unsuccessfully since they wanted experience and hands-on knowledge as well. I got a job in property management instead since I had business experience and knowledge of property management documents and procedures (but no degree) and I have continued to work in the industry for almost eight years now and am earning decent money (approximately $50k) solely based on the knowledge I possess.

    Can it be more difficult without education? Sure because many people won’t even give you the opportunity if proof of higher education isn’t visible on your resume, though, you may possess more knowledge and experience in the field than the President of the company. So, it can be a catch 22; however, I know people who didn’t even finish high school who have successfully become business owners, have maintained their self-employment, and live well.

    I believe if education (i.e. degrees) is highly promoted in order to be considered for jobs that will allow us to live, at least, moderately above the poverty level then the ability to obtain that education should be offered to us free of charge or, at least, offered free up to the cost of a four-year education (based off of the tuition fees of the most prestigious school).

    Sorry I basically wrote a blog within your comment section.:) Very interesting topic. I may have to make this a blog.:) Thanks for sharing.

Questions? Comments?

