#11 – Your Family

So…hm.
Interesting topic.

Short back story:

I was born in New Jersey. My parents both grew up there. Most of my family is still there.
Both of my dad’s brothers, my mom’s parents and some random family members we don’t actually see live here, in Florida, where we’ve lived since I was four.
My dad grew up in a family with 6 kids. Mom in one of four. So, I have kind of a ton of aunts and uncles. Some aren’t around anymore, some we don’t get along with, some we just don’t see and some are awesome. [But, that goes for family in general, doesn’t it?]
People who insist they have more cousins than me think they’re right when I say I have about 12. Then I say no, I mean I have 12 first cousins. That doesn’t count all cousins that aren’t first cousins. Big family. Really big family.
That said, due to most of them living in New Jersey, I don’t see much of said big family too often. My mom’s parents live a mile from us, so they’re the most often. [Even despite the fact my dad’s older brother lives on the road next to ours in our subdivision. If you cut between one property, they’re literally three houses away.]

So, you see, it would take a while to talk in detail about my ENTIRE family. So, in short:
12 cousins: Only four are older than me.
By blood [not all the ones by marriage and whatnot], 3 uncles, 5 aunts. One is no longer with us, one we don’t quite get along with, two we get along with enough, two I almost never see, and the other two that we’d see often if we could live too far away to do so.
No more great-grandparents alive. All four of my grandparents are alive and in their 70’s. We see my dad’s parents once a year or so, and my mom’s as often as we like, really.
One of my great aunts is one of my favorite family members, another is one of my least favorites. The other one I don’t really know enough to have a preference. I don’t know any other great aunts or uncles. No real opinion on most second+ cousins either.
Brother lives in New Jersey and currently is being cranky, so no one’s really on speaking terms. 2 nieces and a nephew.
Get the idea?
Immediate family is me, parents, and two younger sisters.
My dad is quite possibly the goofiest 47-year-old you will ever meet. Ever. We joke he’s 12, because he might as well be.
My mom is a giant health nut [and I mean this seriously] and is working on a business in natural health. She will literally watch The Notebook or Taken every single night if FX is playing it that often. Same with Two and a Half Men.
Rachel, middle sister, is quite honestly one of the most sarcastic/blunt people I know. Also one of the nicest if you give her a reason to be. She’s similar to my mom in that if they’re in a bad mood, you want nothing less than to be around them. [They also both have a tendency to be illogical – don’t ever bother telling them how to do something unless they ask – but oh well. And shared love for reading. My other sister and I also share that, but Mom and Rachel are ever-so-slightly more obsessive.]
Jackie, youngest, is pretty much the female version of my dad: goofy as hell. Has a bit of a talent in the artsy areas. Also, like my dad, is the cranky, whiny type when in a bad mood. [Mom and Rae are just sort of…rawr. Jackie and Dad just complain a lot when they’re irritated :P]

And….I suppose that’s that.

Tomorrow’s topic: Five Guys Whom You Find Attractive.
That’ll be fun.

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #11 – Your Family

  1. renxkyoko says:

    Charming family tree !

    Cheers from California.

Questions? Comments?

