#17 – Something That You’re Proud Of

Every time I’m asked this question, I have trouble answering it.

I think this is mainly because I haven’t done a whole lot to be proud of.

I don’t really regret anything, and I’m not unhappy; I just don’t really look back on any particular thing going ‘wow, go me for doing that.’

I mean sure, I suppose there are things I could be proud of…

I was accepted into a high school journalism program held by the school that owns the St. Petersburg Times newspaper when I was 14. That was cool, since they only accept like 36 people a year for the program. [At least, that was when I went. I know they’ve tweaked the program since then, so I don’t know if the amount accepted has changed.]

I didn’t have a fit over odd sea creatures when I was in the Keys with my boyfriend’s family a couple months ago. [I mention this one only because I was a tad freaked by the ocean before that. Mainly because I’d never been in it, apart from sitting near the shore.]

I’ve never really had to overcome a fear.
Though I think this is mostly because there’s not a lot that scares me. As I said, I hadn’t been around the ocean to have a reason to be scared of it, so that’s too irrational for me to count. Otherwise…I’ve never been scared of needles – except maybe when I was four, like everyone; dogs have never scared me – the bigger the better; I’m not afraid of snakes or anything like that. I don’t LIKE spiders, but I dramatize them more than anything. Yes, huntsman spiders are about the worst things on the planet, but I haven’t had to be NEAR any, so I can be proud of anything dealing with them; see the pattern?
I’m horrified of losing certain people – though, only to death. If you leave my life just by walking out of it, I’ll just have to accept that – but that’s not something I can help. And there isn’t much I could be proud of afterwards. I’ve dealt with deaths already and while it gets easier to deal with, that’s not something worth being proud of.

So, overcoming fears isn’t something I really have any pride over.

I haven’t accomplished a whole lot, so not that either.
I don’t have my license, haven’t managed to snag a job, and I’ve yet to get a GED to be considered finished with high school. But, I’ve been homeschooled my entire life, had my parents to drive me [their idea to hold off the license, not mine. Just fyi.], and didn’t need a job. So, those are all more or less acceptable considering my age. I’m not all too behind schedule for the ‘normal’.
The journalism thing, sure. I set up an online shop. Briefly. It didn’t last long because I had no idea what I was doing, so that was pretty much my fault, but still.

All of that said, I’m not completely lacking pride.

I have a decent family, an awesome boyfriend, great friends, a kickass dog [well, there. I’ve been just about religiously walking him since we got him in February. And normally my will power is kind of lame. SO, there’s that, at least.]…..and hobbies. Which, if not great at, I’ve at least gotten better at.
Plus, as long as the world doesn’t end next year and I don’t die before it…there’s still time.

Tomorrow’s topic: A problem that you have had.

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions? Comments?

