#23 – Something That You Miss

I’m not really the type of person to live in the past. You might have already considered that fact by how often I say I don’t really have any major regrets.

I think one of the reasons I don’t live in the past is because I’m fairly fond of the present.

I’ve been fortunate in that I’ve never had a particularly hard life. I’ve been through hardships like everyone has, and there are things I wish never would have happened because I wouldn’t wish anyone to go through them. That said, my life’s been considerably less awful and dramatic than that of a lot of people.

Even so, I’m happier at this point in my life than I’ve ever been. I’m not the kind of person to look back going ‘I wish I was still 5 and didn’t have to worry about anything but sharing crayons’ like some Facebook page. I DON’T wish I was still a kindergartener, worry-free.

Why?
Because that’s not how it’s supposed to be. I’m still like a five year old in that I have an imagination like one, and I can be too nice and horribly blunt almost simultaneously. I usually don’t think before I speak. Even so, being innocent and oblivious isn’t living. At five, sure, you SHOULD be that way. But at less than 48 hours short of 18….not so much. I’ve learned enough in my relatively short life not to let small things stress me. I don’t let most big things stress me.

It’s not that I’m really like a five year old and just don’t know enough to BE stressed, but more that I choose not to be. And thus, going back to that time would be pointless. When people say they want to be five, it’s because they don’t want to deal with the things they have to in their everyday lives. I’m happy with my life; I’ll deal with anything that goes wrong to get it back on track.

Thus….there’s not a whole lot in the ‘life’ aspect that I miss. There’s a number of people I miss; Some due to the fact they’re no longer alive, some because we no longer talk, and some because our relationships are just too different from how they were.
I miss TV shows and animals and just certain points in life. Even so, I kind of like that.

That sounds a little emo, but that’s not quite how I mean it. It’s just that things change; you have to make of it what you will. I like that there’s stuff I miss; because I don’t really have to think of ‘missing it’ as much as….remembering it. When I see a tv show that reminds me of a person I no longer know for whatever reason, or hear a song that reminds me of a time in my life, I get that feeling of nostalgia just like anyone else. And if things didn’t end, you couldn’t look back on them like that.

So, within reason, there’s not really much of anything that I truly miss. I’m happy.

Tomorrow’s topic: Five words/phrases that make you laugh.

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #23 – Something That You Miss

  1. Nina says:

    UHMmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
    YOU MISS ME.
    Good God. I have to remind you. What is this world coming to.

Questions? Comments?

