The Daytona 500, Cramps and Chocolate Covered Strawberries

I have cramps. Pity me.

In other news, there is an estimated royal shitton of strawberries in our fridge right now. [Because mommy bought a bunch….and because I came home with a bunch from boyfriend’s grandparents’ farm on Sunday. Whoooo strawberry overload.]

So what do you do when you have a royal shitton of strawberries?

You melt chocolate and make chocolate covered strawberries. Because why not.

Now, excuse me semi-in-advance for the short, slightly here-and-there post today. I left the house at 10 yesterday morning and didn’t get home until 4a.m this morning. [And cramps.]

Why?

Because Daytona 500.

Awww yeahhhh rednecks.

[No really, it’s like being in a giant Walmart. Offense unintended.]

I didn’t even know I might be going until Sunday night, and wasn’t sure until yesterday morning. Basically, what happened, is that my dad goes with his brother and friends of theirs to the 500 every year. His brother gets tickets from someone, so they hang out in Daytona for the weekend, see the race, and come home.

THIS year, however, it got postponed. [Due to rain. Yay Florida.]

Initiating ‘OMGWTFBBQ’ sequence.

Why omgwtfbbq?

Because – to my yet-to-cease surprise – the Daytona 500 has never been postponed. [And never run at night, like it was last night.]

So, my uncle and his friend decided they weren’t going to stay another day in the hopes they got to run it, so they went home, and my dad came home Sunday night. They gave him their tickets in case he decided to go back, but he wasn’t sure if there was any chance of racing Monday since it looked like more rain. But, sure enough, they rescheduled to noon yesterday.

And then, when he, my sister and I were in the car on the way there [the other sister opting out of going, and mommy having to work], we hear on the radio it’s postponed again until 7, hoping the rain would be cleared out by then.

….Oh.

Ok.

Too late, already on the road!

We live in Florida, but we don’t live in Daytona, so it’s roughly a two hour ride there. So we decided to just continue and hang out until it started. Which is what we did.

Tried a flea market the guys went to this weekend, but it was mostly empty. So we sort of just bumped around the track, and the mall where we were parked for the day. Luckily, it didn’t really rain past 4 or 5, so it went off at 7 as scheduled.

10 cautions, a crash in the first lap, multiple engine failures, a crash with 6 laps to go, a jet-dryer safety truck on fire, ….it was an interesting race. Especially since my sister and I had never been to one. [My family’s more into IndyCar than NASCAR, but hey, it’s the 500.]

Despite the fact it was a historic one since it’s never been postponed, I think everyone agreed the weirdest thing was the exploded jet dryer. I could explain, but….why do that when you can watch.

Weird, eh? I think I heard about a million times from the announcers and other people that they’d never seen or heard of anything like it. Such a weird, freak accident. Our seats were to the left of the pits [looking at the track], so we couldn’t see all too well what was happening, just a big cloud of smoke and fire. We did, however, see both vehicles involved get towed back into the garages and all. That car looked like it had been run over with a monster truck, and the back of the safety truck was just charred and awful.

26 safety vehicles, around two hours, multiple rounds of a crowd wave, a red flag, and a ton of Tide later, and the show went on.

I’ll save you from detailing all the little crashes and technical difficulties, but overall it was  good race, even if Dale Jr only came second.

But hey, at least it was an interesting first race?

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions? Comments?

