What’s Up? Oh You Know, Just the Usual…..

My bullet-point list from Thursday is now incorrect. But we’ll get to that in a minute.

We did wind up going to the Strawberry Festival yesterday, my grandparents, one of my sisters and I. And it was shockingly really nice. Everyone was in a good mood, and despite the fact we got rained on and had to walk around soaked for the rest of the day, we had fun. Whoohoo bumper cars and other carnival rides. And so many strawberries. SO MANY. STRAWBERRIES. And I got some earrings. And a stuffed animal and a fan.

Particularly awesome, though, was the first concert. They had two [I guess they have different ones every day? Dunno how it works since that’s the first time I’d gone] and the first one was epic. Mainly because it was The Coasters, The Platters and The Drifters. [Yeah I know. THE.] So you can imagine the amount of kickass. [Even though it started raining halfway through the Platters’ set, and went entirely through the Drifters’. Alas.]

So when that ended we bumped around for a while longer, stepped in on a little show going on in a tent [country music, a guy named Jay Taylor. Pleasantly surprised yet again, and I’m not even much a fan of country generally speaking], got something to eat, walked back to the car to exchange some soaked outer layers of clothes and get jackets, came back and I got a slap bracelet and my sister got clackers and oh BLAST FROM THE PAST AMIRITE? Yeah. Pretty awesome.

Then we filed into the stadium again for the main concert. Once there at 7, we figured since we still had half an hour, my sister and I went to go on a roller coaster again. So we did. Then came back just in time for it to start.

I didn’t know who was playing for the first show, so that was a nice surprise. I did know who was there for the night show. Ooooh boy.

Toby Mac.

Yes. That Toby Mac.

OH THE HOLY ROLLERS

I tried explaining to my grandmother [who is super Catholic] before it started the kind of music he played [despite the fact I had never once listened to him, I just knew of him] thinking she would be excited, but I don’t think she heard me. By the time it was over she thoroughly enjoyed it, my grandfather was decently impressed, and my sister was relatively into it too.

So…..despite the fact I am never ever going to be a Toby Mac fan in this lifetime or any other, and was mostly horrified by the seemingly 40-year-old man dancing and singing along very near us, at least they had fun.

I also feel like mentioning now that I don’t have a problem with Christian music. I have plenty of Christian friends, and I’ve always really liked bands like Relient K, Anberlin, Red, Skillet and the older Hawk Nelson stuff. But this was just…..holy cow.

Then again, I wouldn’t have liked him even if he WEREN’T Christian. Sorry Toby, you’re not black and you’re not pimp: Quit talking like you think you are, you sound like a dumbass. The fact you’re married to a Jamaican does not, in fact, make it okay to pretend you’re playing any kind of reggae in any of your songs. If it were actually reggae, then maybe. But it’s not. Also, fuck dubstep. Was that really necessary?

[I think the thing I’ll remember most though, is that when they were playing bits of other songs by different artists, he started with the hand-dolphin, calling it a ‘train’. Seriously. Don’t know what I’m talking about?

This shit. That right there. Every single person in that audience doing that. He had everyone. Doing. That. I was curled up in a vertical fetal position on the bleacher looking around and wondering how I’d stumbled into the Narnia C.S Lewis would have created if he were even MORE religious and less of a writer. What. The. Fuck. I have nothing against religious people or the music, but that shit was bananas. Never again.]

Anyway.

Apart from that, it was a really nice day.

And then we got home.

Mom was telling us about how she and my sister had a nice day too, mostly just hanging out, talking and reading magazines, and dad was all excited we saw the Coasters/Platters/Drifters and that they were there and all, and my grandparents had a nice day and were content. My sister was still trying to get the hang of the clackers and my mom was all amazed she got them, since she had them when she was like 9, blah blah blah.

So once my grandmother got out of the shower, I was planning on getting in. We’d been on the patio talking, my mom, grandmother, and I. The guys were watching tv. Mom decides she needs to ask my grandfather something about something our neighbors wanted to know about.

Cue the shitstorm.

Long story short, alcohol turns some people into psychobitches, some people don’t know the difference between debate and argument, and all of the involved don’t know when to keep their mouths shut. In any case, I got in the shower just about immediately when it started. [My timing, it is impeccable.] and was out after it ended.

Screaming match because everyone has the maturity of a mayfly. Grandparents went to bed, I find out this morning that my grandfather wanted to go home last night, but my grandmother said no. Mom went to bed. Dad, both of my sisters and I hung out in the youngest’s room laughing about how stupid the whole thing was and being mindblown over the fact the two involved seriously didn’t [and never do] understand what their problem was.

Mom had to work this morning, and she and dad had to work early this afternoon, so she was going to be gone all day as is. My grandparents decided to cut the trip short and leave today instead of Wednesday.

So that was all very exciting. Classy as usual.

In any case, yesterday was good. And the rest of us pretty much expect things like that, since both my grandfather and my mom can be fairly loud and a touch pigheaded, so they clash. [Then again, they’re like that by themselves anyway, so it’s always bound to happen.]

All my stuff is already settled in my own room again, and now the only issue is that our dryer is broken yet again.

WILL IT NEVER END.

And I’m guessing there will be no pizza tomorrow as previously expected. Oh well. Typical.

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions? Comments?

