Why I Hate 3D and Why I Loved the Avengers

MAY THE FOURTH BE WITH YOU.

R.I.P MCA.

Now that those two important bits of today are out of the way [totally sincere, by the way], we come to  a possibly more important bit:

THE AVENGERS.

Yeah. It’s important. Chances are you knew that, unless you’ve been living under a rock since it was announced.

But I digress.

SO. Before anything else, can I just quickly rant about something? Yes? Cool. [If not: Scroll is your friend.]

Why are 3D movies a thing? WHY? Who actually, genuinely really likes them? Please, inform me, because I am truly lost.

Points against it:

  • The glasses are unattractive/uncomfortable
  • It makes most people sick/dizzy, at least part of the time
  • It’s overpriced
  • It ruins movies, in the sense that filmmakers seem so intent on making movies 3D-worthy that they forget about other important aspects
  • People who feel the need to grab at things 50 feet in front of them

Points for it:

  • ???

I mean really. It does nothing for the movie. Nothing. Maybe it’s okay as a cheap gimmick for a movie that’s otherwise shitty, but for something that’s decent…it doesn’t need it. It’s just distracting. I had to take my glasses off multiple times during The Avengers because I couldn’t even see straight. How is that enjoyable? Why bother? If it’s a good movie, you don’t need to add extra shit on top of it just BECAUSE. Trust me, people are plenty happy with guns and explosions and car crashes as is. You don’t need to throw them in their face on top of it. [Yes, some people insist it’s better. Some people are also sheep who will believe anything if you feed it to them correctly.]

As I’ve said multiple times today, I wish I had a time machine just so I could go back and find whoever invented 3D movies and punch him in the face.

Just. Stop.

Now that I’ve got that off my chest:

That movie. Was. Perfect.

No. I’m serious. It was perfect. This is not something I say often about movies. Almost never, in fact.

It could be because I went into it absolutely terrified that it was going to be bad or just mediocre. [I mean really: Do things like this ever go that well? Not often, surely. That many decently big-name actors and iconic characters in one thing? Oof.] And it COULD have been awful. It could have EASILY been painfully bad, or just near-bearable.

But it was perfect.

It wasn’t cheesy and it didn’t act like it was trying too hard.

There were explosions and fights left and right, but not in the way most movies with explosions-and-fights are. It wasn’t too much. It didn’t get old. It didn’t lose sight of its story and it didn’t feel like it was JUST fights and explosions.

Every single actor in that movie was brilliant. Every last one. There is not a single person who wasn’t great. Every actor did their characters justice. Mark Ruffalo made me not hate the Hulk. [Quite an accomplishment, I’ll add.]

I also feel like noting this movie was like the most recent Star Trek one, in that the entire cast is painfully attractive. I mean really? Is this the new trend? Usually there’s at least a COUPLE only-moderately-hot side characters. But nooope. Hothothot. [Also, soft spot for Scarlett Johansson completely reignited.]

Joss Whedon is a genius. He may even be a magician. All I know is he deserves massive bonus points for creating something that most people would have drastically failed at.

I may have to create a mini shrine devoted to him in my bedroom.

It was that good.

They didn’t try to fit too much in. They didn’t add in a bunch of unnecessary elements or drag the plot line out. Didn’t throw in things just to throw them in. It stuck to its storyline and it was worth it.

Maybe I liked it more because I was scared I wouldn’t. But regardless of why, I am thoroughly impressed. Considering I’ve heard at least a couple of the actors [Mark Ruffalo and I believe Chris Evans] have signed 6-movie deals playing their characters, I hope they all live up to this one. [That said, I’ve been really fond of the movies leading up to this. Captain America, Thor {which I only saw for the first time last night, since I insisted on watching it before The Avengers. Glad I did, too. Much better that way}, both Iron Man movies….Really and truly hated the last Hulk movie {at least, I believe it was the 2008 Ed Norton one, and not the 2003 Eric Bana one….}, but that hardly counts. And like I said, I think Mark Ruffalo has cured my hatred for the character.]

All in all, 10/10 would watch again.

Whoooo for being completely content with it. Impressed.

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions? Comments?

