I Met Chris DeMakes and I Win

If you know me moderately well, chances are that you know I like punky, loud, sometimes goofy music. So apart from the fact I’m anything but a pothead, the ska-punk genre is just about always my favorite.

Basically what I’m getting at is my sister and I saw the Ska Goes Solo tour about a week ago – said tour being made up of three ska-punk singers doing acoustic sets, and a few local bands as openers. The tour consisted of Less Than Jake’s Chris DeMakes, Catch-22’s Ryan Eldred, and hilarious solo-performer/was in Arrogant Sons of Bitches-and-some-other-bands, Jay Tea, aka J.T Turret. So basically it was bound to be awesome. And it was. Made more awesome by the fact I randomly met the person I was mainly there to see, being Chris DeMakes. For as much as I like Less Than Jake, you’d think I’d have noticed him hanging at the merch table before I got there. But no. Instead I’m looking at stuff and the guy behind the table says something about still setting up so I’m like ‘yeah cool blahblah’ look and HOLY SHIT WHAT LSAJBNOLWGJ. My sister later told me I may have stepped backwards in shock. “You have red gloves.” “Yeah. They’re too big for me. Baby hands.” “Better than having really big, fat hands and really long fingers.” “Suppose there’s that.” “You’re a very petite woman, so at least they fit you.”
Something something about coming back later, walked back to my sister and my brain did a bunch of things at once and I think I shrieked or something and tried to inhale/exhale simultaneously. So that was weird and great.

And then all the opening bands were great. No seriously, if you like punk and/or ska music, must check out. Links below.
Control This   Tef London   Caffiends

In other news, I’m back to ordering presents obnoxiously early. Boyfriend’s birthday is towards the end of May, I’ve already ordered/bought essentially all of what I’m getting him. Planning everyone else’s as well. Easier, especially when you have people who are RIDICULOUSLY HARD TO BUY FOR OH MY GOD WHY CAN’T YOU PEOPLE JUST ALL WANT FINGER PAINTS LIKE ME

And ice cream. Finger paints and ice cream.

More good things: I have so far managed to avoid the cold that has plagued by entire family. Maybe there is a god after all.

Also I now have things to look forward to. [The shitty bits of life are almost always made easier when looking forward to things.] Going to the Keys again with the boyfriend’s family in September, best friends are congregating at my house for a few days in March and I do believe we have plans for the beach – if the weather isn’t obnoxious, and tattoos – if we can decide on someone who conveniently has time for us on the day we need. So there’s all that. Yayyy or something.

Boyfriend also insists we can probably get me a car after tax season is over, thus bringing us that much closer to moving the fuck out. So I’m trying not to get my hopes up or anything yet, but here’s hoping. Fingers crossed and stuff.

 

And now I’m sleepy so it’s bedtime.

About TheChaoticCloset

I'm pretty much your average 19 year old girl. I'm kind of rabidly into anything artsy [well. I adore most anything in the realm of 'art'. Doesn't mean I'm good at it all.] including fashion. After becoming sort of obsessed with Polyvore.com, I decided to create this. It'll probably mostly just be a giant, chaotic mess of all my little projects, loves, wants, obsessions and some random things I find along the way. Enjoy - or don't; Really, it's up to you.
This entry was posted in These posts are just a lot of words. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions? Comments?

